AIBT Appoints New Board of Directors

The Association of International Banks & Trust Companies in The Bahamas (AIBT) ratified its new Board of Directors at a meeting held on September 19th, 2013. The board – which will serve a two year term from 2013 to 2015 – will be led by newly appointed Chairman Antoinette Russell, Managing Director of Credit Suisse Trust Ltd. Mrs. Russell becomes the first Bahamian woman to lead the 37-year-old organization. Chairman Russell assumes leadership of the AIBT at a critical time for the sector, as The Bahamas navigates the implementation of a Value Added Tax system, and faces an ever-changing and increasingly competitive global landscape for both customers and talent.

Delivering the opening remarks at this year’s Nassau Conference, for which she also served as Chairman, Mrs. Russell stated: the AIBT continues to evolve and respond to the changing landscape by seeking to meet and exceed the professional development needs of our industry.” In taking on this new role, she reaffirmed that the AIBT will continue to work vigilantly on behalf of its members, in close consultation with Government, industry partners, regulators and other associations, to foster the growth and development of The Bahamas’ financial services sector. She thanked Jean-Marc Fellay for his exemplary leadership as the outgoing Chairman and extended her gratitude to the Officers and Directors who have provided and continue to provide their service to the AIBT.

Joining Mrs. Russell, the other officers appointed were: Ivan Hooper of Winterbotham Trust Company Ltd., as a Deputy Chairman; Bruno Roberts of The Private Trust Corporation Limited, as a Deputy Chairman; Ravi Jesubatham of the Bank of Nova Scotia Trust Company (Bahamas) Ltd., as Treasurer; and Anastacia Johnson, Executive Administrator of AIBT, as Secretary.

Directors of the AIBT Board include: Beat Paoletto of UBS (Bahamas) Ltd; Jan Mezulanik of Pictet Bank & Trust Ltd., Jean-Marc Fellay of Julius Baer Bank & Trust (Bahamas) Ltd., Miguel Gonzalez of Syz & Co. Bank & Trust Ltd., Dominique Lefevre of Societe Generale Private Banking (Bahamas) Ltd., Colyn Roberts of Corner Bank (Overseas) Ltd., Ivanhoe Sands of Credit Agricole Suisse (Bahamas) Ltd., Fabrizio Tuletta of BSI Overseas (Bahamas) Ltd., Deborah Watson of St. James Bank & Trust Ltd and Claudine Farquharson of Andbank (Bahamas) Ltd.